In our Centennial Year, four Indian Hills caddies have been awarded four-year, full tuition and housing college scholarships by the Western Golf Association.  The new Evans Scholars include Paige Bruce (Lee’s Summit North HS), Savannah Gentry (St. Teresa’s Academy), Cooper Goss (Rockhurst HS), and Jaisen Guier (St. Michael the Archangel HS).

All the new Evans Scholars will be attending the University of Kansas, as Freshmen in September 2022, where they will be living with 35 other scholars in the KU Evans Scholar Chapter House on campus.  Indian Hills caddie and graduating KU Evans Scholar,  AnhDao Do, will serve as next year’s Graduate Resident Advisor at the KU Chapter House.

To be awarded an Evans Scholarship a caddie candidate must be recommended by their Club Pro, have caddied for at least two years, have achieved high academic standing, evidence family financial need, and demonstrate exemplar character.  All of our new Indian Hills Evans Scholars met these high standards and greatly impressed the WGA Interview Committee in their early February interviews. The four-year scholarship has a value of $120,000.

The Evans Scholarship Foundation, sponsored by the Western Golf Association, will have 1200 students on scholarship in 2022, at 20 universities throughout the nation.  The Program is funded from proceeds of the BMW Championship and by club members, golfers, and Evans Scholar Alumni, who make annual contributions to the WGA Par Club.  Three Indian Hills members serve as Directors of the WGA:  Bob Hartnett, Dan Scherman, and Jack Holland.

As a result of the decades-long support of Mike Ricket and his staff, Indian Hills has the strongest and oldest caddie program in the region, and over 60 Indian Hills caddies have been awarded Evans Scholarships, including four in our Centennial Year!