Question: Playing in a stroke play event on a very windy day. While on the green ready to make a stroke at a putt, the wind gusts and the ball moves but comes back to rest in the original spot. Is there a penalty?

Answer: This is an interesting situation since by definition the ball has not moved. Once the ball is returned to the original spot, it will be played as it lies.  And since natural forces (the wind) caused the ball to “move”, there is no penalty to any player. 

Submit a Rules question for Todd to answer here.

Todd Stice is our in-house Rules of Golf Expert. You can learn more about Todd here.