Question: My tee shot came to rest inbounds between the cart path and a large shrub. There also a large tree roughly 20 yards away between the ball and the green. I had no backswing because of the shrub. If I took an unplayable, I still had the tree in the way. I determined the best play was to hit the ball backwards (towards the tee) to give myself a clear line to the green. Hitting in that direction put my stance on the path. Do I get relief from the path if I’m hitting the ball backwards for a legitimate strategy?

Answer: Yes, as long as the stance and stroke are reasonable and the only play (which it sounds like in this case), interference from the cart path would allow you free relief.  You could drop the ball properly then play to the green.  Sometimes there are great results for knowing how to apply the Rules!