
Rules 7-8 Quiz Answers 
Assume all questions are in stroke play and no local rules are in effect, unless stated otherwise. 
REMEMBER: “CATS” refers to Conditions Affecting the Stroke 

 
1. True or False: 

a. If a ball is not marked when lifted to identify it, there is no penalty if the ball turns out to be the player’s ball.  FALSE Rule 7.3. 
b. If a player moves their ball in play before they begin searching for it, there is no penalty.  FALSE Rule 7.4 
c. In fairly searching for his ball, a player accidentally breaks a branch that improves his CATS.  He gets the General Penalty.  

FALSE Rule 7.1a 
d. A player’s ball is in a green side bunker. They rake a different bunker on the opposite side of the green just to clean up the 

footprints left by the previous group. They will get the general penalty if their ball comes to rest in that bunker.  FALSE Rule 
8.2b Exc. 

e. A player taking relief from an abnormal course condition in the general area removes some loose sand in the relief area 
before she drops the ball. She gets the General Penalty TRUE Rule 8.1a(4) 

 
2. Baile’s ball is at rest in a greenside bunker near a drain. She asks a referee to come look at her lie for possible relief. The referee 

determines the drain does not interfere and no relief is given. Baile then smooths the referee’s footprints that are in her CATS, 
which also includes some of her own footprints. Which of the following is correct?    

a. Baile gets the General Penalty for improving her CATS. 
b. Baile has proceeded correctly and there is no penalty. Rule 8.1d 
c. Baile is allowed to smooth the referee’s footprints, but she must recreate the interference of her own footprints in order 

to avoid penalty before the next stroke. 
 

3. In stroke play, Doug’s ball is at rest in its own pitch mark in the fringe. Without marking his ball, he lifts and cleans it, then repairs 
the pitch mark for the care of the course. He then realizes the repair of the pitch mark may have helped him as it may be on his 
line of play as he intends to putt the ball for his next stroke. He drops the ball, and it comes to rest in the relief area, with the 
repaired pitch mark now on his line of play. Which ONE of the following is accurate? 

a. Doug has proceeded correctly, and a stroke made will result in no penalties.  Rule 8.2b Exception 
b. Doug is penalized 2 strokes for improving his CATS. 
c. Doug is penalized 1 stroke for a bad procedure of not marking and cleaning.   
d. Doug is penalized 3 strokes for bad procedure (1 PS) and for improving CATS (2 PS).  

 
4. Which of the following (possibly multiple) results in the general penalty before the stroke is made? 

a. Taylor removes an OB Stake that is NOT in her CATS. 
b. Taylor taps down a worm cast in the fairway that improves her CATS. 
c. Taylor breaks a branch improving her CATS but replaces the broken branch to restore the interference.   
d. Taylor rakes her footprints in a bunker in her CATS after she leaves it to change clubs. Rule 8.1a(4). 

 
5. Wendi is searching for her tee shot in the right rough. She decides to let the group behind her play through and steps out of the 

way. While she is waiting, she is on her phone walking around and she accidentally kicks her ball. She lifts the ball, cleans it and 
then drops it within one club-length of the estimated spot no nearer the hole. She plays onto the green and holes the putt. What 
is Wendi’s score for the hole? 
Wendi’s score is 5. Although she has stopped the search, she is not penalized for accidentally moving her ball in play, 
Clarification 7.4/3. However, she must replace the ball and not drop it, so she gets the GP for making a stroke from the wrong 
place under 14.7. Tee shot (1), shot to green (2), GP for wrong place (3,4), putt holed (5).   


