
Rule 20 Quiz Answers 
Assume all questions are in stroke play and no local rules are in effect, unless stated otherwise. 

1. True or False: 
a. A timely request for a ruling cannot occur after the players have left the final green of the match. FALSE 20.1b(3) 
b. If a player makes a stroke at a wrong ball thinking it was his second ball under Rule 20.1c(3), that penalty will be disregarded if 

that ball is ruled to not count. FALSE 20.1c(3) and 6.3 
c. A penalty of disqualification cannot be imposed after a competition is closed. FALSE 20.2e 
d. A wrong ruling given to a player must be corrected, even if the competition is closed.  FALSE 20.2d(1) 
e. When playing 2 balls, a player may lift the original ball, drop it and play it.  Then place a substituted ball in the original position and 

play that ball.  TRUE 20.1c(3) and Clarification 20.1c(3)/3 
 

2. In match play, Baile is uncertain how to proceed and elects to play 2 balls and get a ruling when she can, with no objection from her 
opponent Taylor. Baile and Taylor do not know playing 2 balls is not allowed in match play. Baile wins the hole with both balls and 
eventually the match 1-Up. The players report the match result, and it is posted as final. Later that day Taylor realizes Baile was not 
allowed to play 2 balls and requests a ruling. Which one of the following is correct? 

a. The match stands as played.  Rule 20.1b(3) 
b. The loss of hole penalty is applied, meaning Taylor wins the match 1-Up. 
c. The match is adjusted 1 hole and is now tied thru 18. 
d. Baile is disqualified. 

 

3. In match play, Todd and Doug cannot agree if Todd just incurred a loss of hole penalty for placing a club at his feet before making a 
stroke. Since a referee was not available, they agreed to halve the hole and pick up their balls. Before they tee off the next hole, a 
referee drives up and Doug requests a ruling on Todd’s possible breach. Which one of the following is correct?    

a. Todd loses the hole for the breach; the request was in time. 
b. The hole is halved as agreed upon by the players.  Rule 20.1b(1) 
c. Both players are disqualified for agreeing to waive a rule. 
d. Todd gets a 1 stroke penalty, the balls are replaced, and the hole continues. 

 

4. The committee mis-adds Taylor’s scorecard and posts her score as a 69, when she shot 67. Doug was awarded the first-place 
trophy for shooting 68. Three weeks later the committee is informed that Taylor shot 67. Which one of the following is correct?  

a. Taylor is the rightful winner and must be awarded the trophy.  Rule 20.2d(2) 
b. The competition has closed, Doug is the winner, and Taylor’s score stands. 
c. Taylor score is corrected to 67, but she also gets a 2-stroke penalty for signing a wrong scorecard.  
d. Taylor is disqualified for signing a wrong scorecard. 

 

5. Doug is unsure if his tee shot is embedded in the general area. He elects to play 2 balls and doesn’t announce which ball he wants 
to count. He drops a ball in a relief area for an embedded ball. Then he plays the original ball first and holes it for a 2.  He then 
decides not to ask for a ruling and lifts the dropped ball. He counts the 2 with the original ball, returns the scorecard and tells the 
committee the situation. Which one of the following is correct? 

a. His score for the hole is a 2.  Rule 20.1c(4). 
b. He gets a 4, including a 2-stroke penalty for not holing out both balls. 
c. He is disqualified for not holing out with the ball that will count. 
d. He is disqualified for not holing out with both balls. 

 


