
Rules 1-4 Quiz with Answers 
Assume all questions are in stroke play and no local rules are in effect, unless stated otherwise. 
 
1. True or False: 

a. A player will not be penalized if they were unaware an action was a penalty.  FALSE, 1.3b(1) 
b. Multiple penalties will be applied if the acts are unrelated.  FALSE, 1.3c(4)  
c. A ball touching the putting green and a red penalty area is in the red penalty area. TRUE, 2.2c 
d. In match play, a player may ignore his opponent making a stroke with a non-conforming ball, in which the penalty 

is DQ.  TRUE 3.2d(4) 
e. If a player damages a club in anger, he may continue to use the club in that round, even if has become non-

conforming.  TRUE 4.1a(2) 
 

2. Taylor’s ball is at rest in a red penalty area.  She elects to take relief and correctly drops a brand-new ball in a lateral relief area.  
With her substituted ball in play, she accidentally drops her club that moves the ball a few inches and she says, “Uh oh, that’s a 
penalty”.  She replaces the ball and then removes a little sand that was next to her ball which improved her CATS. She then 
makes a stroke.   How many penalty strokes for this scenario?  

a. 1 
b. 2 
c. 3 
d. 4 Rules 17.1d, 9.4b, 8.1a(4) and 1.3c(4) 

 
3. During a match on a par-4, Doug hits his tee shot into a bunker, drops outside the bunker under the unplayable ball rule, and 

then hits his ball 1 inch from the hole. Wendi, his opponent, did not witness the unplayable ball drop and player her 3rd shot 
from the other side of the fairway onto the green. Both players start walking toward the green and Wendi notices Doug’s ball 
next to the hole and yells to Doug who is still 75 yards away, “Great shot, it’s your hole, nice birdie!”. Doug says, “Thanks, but 
that is a bogey, I had a 2-stroke penalty, and I haven’t had the chance to tell you.”  Which of the following is true? 

a. Doug wins the hole.  3.2b(2), 3.2d(2). 
b. Doug is in with bogey, and Wendi can putt for par. 
c. Doug loses the hole for not telling Wendi about the penalty in time.   

 
4. In a net stroke play competition, Baile plays a round with her handicap listed as 4 on her scorecard, but she is a 6.  She returns 

the card with a gross score of 70 and leaves the scoring area.  The committee computes her net score as 66.  Before the 
competition is final, it is discovered Baile’s handicap was inaccurate on the scorecard.  Which of the following is correct?  

a. Baile is disqualified. 
b. There is no penalty, and the committee must correct the net score to 64.  Rule 3.3b(4) 
c. There is no penalty, but Baile must accept the handicap of 4, net score remains 66. 
d. Baile gets 2 strokes for an incorrect score card. 

 
5. Nelson and Todd are playing in the same tournament but in different groups. Todd starts his round with 14 clubs but breaks his 

5 iron when he accidently drops it and runs over it with his golf car on the 9th hole. Nelson, who is on the back 9, texts Todd and 
says he can borrow his 5-iron from his back up set in his car.  Todd gets the club without delay and uses it on the 10th, 14th and 
18th holes.  Which of the following is correct? 

a. No penalties, this procedure is allowed. Rule 4.1b(4) 
b. Todd gets a 2-stroke penalty. 
c. Todd gets three 2-stroke penalties (Holes 10, 14 & 18) 
d. Todd gets disqualified 


