
Session 3 Quiz (Rules 7-8)  
Assume all questions are in stroke play and no local rules are in effect, unless stated otherwise. 

REMEMBER: “CATS” refers to Conditions Affecting the Stroke 

 
1. True or False: 

a. If a ball is not marked when lifted to identify it, there is no penalty if the ball turns out to be the player’s ball.   

b. If a player moves their ball in play before they begin searching for it, there is no penalty.   

c. In fairly searching for his ball, a player accidentally breaks a branch that improves his CATS.  He gets the 

General Penalty.   

d. A player’s ball is in a green side bunker and they rake a different bunker on the opposite side of the green just 

to clean up the footprints left by the previous group.  They will get the general penalty if their ball comes to 

rest in that bunker.   

e. A player taking relief from an abnormal course condition in the general area removes some loose sand in the 

relief area before she drops the ball.  She gets the General Penalty  

 

2. Baile’s ball is at rest in a greenside bunker near a drain.  She asks a referee to come look at her lie for possible 

relief.  The referee determines the drain does not interfere and no relief is given.  Baile then smooths the referee’s 

footprints that are in her CATS, which also includes some of her own footprints.  Which of the following is 

correct?    

a. Baile gets the General Penalty for improving her CATS. 

b. Baile has proceeded correctly and there is no penalty.  

c. Baile is allowed to smooth the referee’s footprints, but she must recreate the interference of her own 

footprints in order to avoid penalty before the next stroke. 

 

3. In stroke play, Doug’s ball is at rest in its own pitch mark in the fringe.  Without marking his ball, he lifts and 

cleans it, then repairs the pitch mark for the care of the course.  He then realizes the repair of the pitch mark may 

have helped him as it may be on his line of play as he intends to putt the ball for his next stroke.  He drops the 

ball, and it comes to rest in the relief area, with the repaired pitch mark now on his line of play.  Which ONE of 

the following is accurate? 

a. Doug has proceeded correctly, and a stroke made will result in no penalties.   

b. Doug is penalized 2 strokes for improving his CATS. 

c. Doug is penalized 1 stroke for a bad procedure of not marking and cleaning.   

d. Doug is penalized 3 strokes for bad procedure (1 PS) and for improving CATS (2 PS).  
 

4. Which of the following (possibly multiple) results in the general penalty before the stroke is made? 

a. Taylor removes an OB Stake that is NOT in her CATS. 

b. Taylor taps down a worm cast in the fairway that improves her CATS. 

c. Taylor breaks a branch improving her CATS but replaces the broken branch to restore the interference.   

d. Taylor rakes her footprints in a bunker in her CATS after she leaves it to change clubs.  

 

5. Wendi is searching for her tee shot in the right rough.  She decides to let the group behind her play through and 

steps out of the way.  While she is waiting, she is on her phone walking around and she accidentally kicks her ball.   

She lifts the ball, cleans it and then drops it within one club-length of the estimated spot no nearer the hole.  She 

plays onto the green and holes the putt. What is Wendi’s score for the hole? 

 


